What's in a workspace?

MultiPing can save its current workspace environment, including all targets, into a file so you can easily reproduce the environment.  These files store:

  • All targets being currently pinged.
  • The list of TimeLine graphs visible in the main screen
  • All floating time graphs, their locations, sizes, scales and other settings.
  • The sort order (if you're sorting)
  • Collected data (if that option is enabled).

Be default, when MultiPing is closed, it will automatically save its configuration to one of these files named "DefaultWorkspace.mws" in the MultiPing install directory.  When MultiPing is reloaded, it will automatically reload that same file.

You can also manually load a workspace at any time, and save at any time.  These files are in text format, in case it needs to be manually manipulated for any reason.

An option that is new to MultiPing version 2 is the ability to save collected data with the workspace.

Using a non-default workspace.

You may have different monitoring scenarios that you use in MultiPing at different times (or maybe at the same time!).  When you load a workspace (that isn't the default workspace), the title bar on MultiPing will change to show the workspace name.  This allows you to have multiple sessions of MultiPing running doing different things.

Saving collected data with a workspace

New to MultiPing version 2 is the ability to save collected data with your workspace.  The collected data is saved in a directory matching the name of your workspace file.  When reloading the workspace, the collected data will be reloaded as well.

If, for some reason, the collected data is unavailable, the workspace will still load, but the collected data won't.